The Old Woman

I headed for Sim Lim Square after work with a friend to collect his new ibook. Upon reaching the shop, they did some testing of sorts and proceeded to upgrade the ram. So I made way to the corner to buy a beverage from the dispensing machine. Then I saw her.

She went forward into the shop, asked the sales guy if she can have the empty box lying beside the casing displays. The men glared at her, without a word and kicked the box towards her. She picked up the box, flattened it and piled it on her trolley.

I looked at the guy. He glared back at me and sauntered into his shop.

The crowds carried on with their routines and the passers-by continued their ways. She packed her stuff, crushed an empty can, and made her way back to the stairways.

And I stood there, watching her as she strode into her disappearance.

I regretted. Our civic-mindedness should not hold us back. I should have done my part yet I didn’t.

“If I must choose between righteousness and peace, I choose righteousness.” Theodore Roosevelt

About Things That Happened In The Past

i am just an ordinary person waiting for a dream come true.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

