The Guy With The Rebreather

“Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art.
It has no survival value;
rather is one of those things that give value to survival.”
Dear Chris,
I used to think the best thing that happened during my trip to Kota Kinabalu last year, was to be able to see the coral reefs and to meet up with a whole new bunch of wonderful people like Jo, Billy, Lilan and her cousin, and being privileged to receive skills from Ron and earning my Advanced Open Water Diving certification.

And I was wrong.

Sometimes blessings come in a very minute form, so small and insignificant that you and I would not be able to tell at that time when the blessing was bestowed. Over the few days on board that lovely Catamaran, I only said one word to you- “Hi”. My diving mate was interacting more fervently than me. I kept sitting there in quietude, looking at a drenched you emerge from the waters with your Rebreather. I did not recall having to say “hi” again after the first time we met. And the best of what I did, was a smile.

Little did I know this smile brought me to a long, long way – eventually to the honour of deserving your friendship.

I recall the solitary afternoons which we nattered, from our dive adventures to my hopes and dreams upon the looming of every new overseas dive trip. I also remembered the meals we had when you were back in Singapore, simple ordinary hawker fanfare, but good enough for two good friends to catch up.

I would like to thank you for everything you have done for me. Little things you did for me were always convoyed with appreciation. Every phone call and text from across the other side of the world was itself a gem, a reminder how friendship can transcend over the farthest distance, to work its care and concern for each other.

Every night dive, I will remember you, and how your gift of the underwater torch “shone” my way in the darkest waters, like the way you brightened my days during my darkest hours.

Thanks a lot Chris. I am glad I went to Kota Kinabalu last year. The best thing that happened during my trip there last year, was you.

Your friend,
Alfred

About Things That Happened In The Past

i am just an ordinary person waiting for a dream come true.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

